DES MOINES COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW DES MOINES COUNTY COURTHOUSE 513 N MAIN STREET BURLINGTON IOWA 52601

Meeting Tuesday, May 31, 2022

On Tuesday, May 31, 2022, the members of the Des Moines County Board of Review assembled in the Conference Room, fourth floor of the Courthouse in Burlington, Iowa. Chairperson, Robert Gerdes, called the meeting to order at 8:05 a.m.

Those Board members present were: Robert Gerdes, Barbara Kelley and Lee Robertson. Others present were Assessor Matthew Warner, Chief Deputy Assessor Mitch Taeger, and Assistant County Attorney Trent Henkelvig. Greg Mandsager from the public was also in attendance.

The Tuesday, May 24, 2022, meeting minutes were approved as written.

The Board acted upon protests submitted for their consideration.

The Board discussed the applications for property tax exemption by SEIRMC, Inc. The board discussed the criteria needed for consideration for exemption status. Gerdes voted to allow the exemption on all SEIRMC, Inc that was applied for except for the property leased by SEIRMC and the Klein's nursing home. Kelley and Robertson voted to deny the application for tax exemption in whole. Kelley made the motion, second by Robertson to deny the applications for tax exempt status for parcels, #02-26-276-005, #15-02-100-001, #15-02-100-004, #15-02-100-009. Kelley Aye, Robertson Aye, Gerdes Nay. Motion passed.

The Board thereupon approved requests for Tax Exemption found on Attachment A, and the Board of Review of Des Moines County, holding its final session at the courthouse in the City of Burlington, Iowa, offered the following Resolution, which was unanimously passed and adopted.

BE IT RESOLVED that all raises of assessments by this local board of review appearing upon the lists heretofore posted in the office of this board, not heretofore otherwise acted upon since the dates of said posting, be, and they are, respectively approved and confirmed and ordered to be noted in both the records of this board and in the office of the Des Moines County Assessor at Burlington, lowa, as the final assessment in each instance, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that action taken on each protest where reductions were made are hereby approved and confirmed, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that there being no further business to come before this local board of review, all protests to this board not having been heretofore acted upon by this board, if any, are hereby denied, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board of Review does finally adjourn.

IT WAS NOTED that all decisions made by this local Board of Review shall become final on the last meeting day of this session of said Board.

West Burlington City Administrator Greg Mandsager commented during the public comment portion of the meeting. Mandsager mentioned the lack of information provided by SEIRMC, Inc to defend their request for property tax exemption. Mandsager said no one from SEIRMC had contacted him prior to them filling for tax exempt status.

The board did not go into closed session.

There being	; no further business t	o come before th	his Board on [.]	this date, t	the Board
formally adjourned	at 9:53 a.m.				

Barbara Kelley, Clerk

2022 DES MOINES COUNTY EXEMPTION APPLICATIONS

PARCEL#	NAME	PROPERTY ADDRESS	PURPOSE	DATE FILED	RECOMMEND
16-16-101-004	Heart Song	2610 S 5TH Burlington IA	NONPROFIT & CHARITABLE ORGANIZATIONS ADULT DAYCARE	1/31/2022	YES
02-26-232-005	First Baptist Church of Mediapolis	504 N Division St Mediapolis IA	NONPROFIT & CHARITABLE ORGANIZATIONS Build Church Parsonage	9/24/2021	YES
11-31-452-005 11-31-452-006 11-31-452-007 11-31-452-008 11-31-452-010 11-31-452-030 11-31-452-032	Heritage Baptist Church	313 Emmett St Burlington IA	NONPROFIT & CHARITABLE ORGANIZATIONS Church	10/26/2021	YES
16-05-260-009	CITY HOPE FOUNDATION	311 S 9th St Burlington IA	NONPROFIT & CHARITABLE ORGANIZATIONS CHURCH	11/1/2021	YES
16-17-328-005	First Resources Corporation	1711 Koestner St Burlington IA	NONPROFIT & CHARITABLE ORGANIZATIONS Assisted Living Group Home	11/8/2021	YES

APPROVED BY DES MOINES COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW

Robert Gerdes, Chairperson

DATE: 5