Des Moines County Conference Board

Courthouse – 513 N Main Burlington, Iowa 52601 Telephone (319)753-8224 Fax (319)208-5648

Meeting of Thursday, February 1, 2024

On Thursday, February 1, 2024, the members of the Des Moines County Conference Board assembled in the County Supervisor meeting room, Second Floor of the Courthouse in Burlington, Iowa. Chairperson, Supervisor Tom Broeker called the meeting to order at 5:02 p.m.

Those Board members present were:

Mayors:

Danville Jerry Strause
Mediapolis Charles Massner
West Burlington Ron Teater

School Board Representatives:

Burlington Anika McVay
Danville Samantha Dill
Mediapolis Tim Zurmuehlen
West Burlington Mike Davis

Supervisors:

Des Moines County Jim Cary
Tom Broeker

Others:

County Assessor Matt Warner
Deputy Andrea Bowen

No public or press was present.

Supervisor Broeker declared a quorum.

Strause made a motion to approve the agenda. Second by McVay. All Aye, motion carried.

Teater made a motion to approve minutes of the last meeting held February 23rd, 2023. Second by McVay. All Aye, motion carried.

Strause made the motion to approve the Board of Review to hire council outside of the County Attorney's office with the approval of the County Attorney's office if the need would occur to do so. Second by Cary. The individual votes were as follows: Supervisors – All Aye, Mayors – All Aye, School

Board – All Aye. The units of the Board voted as follows: Supervisors – All Aye, Mayors – All Aye, School Board Representatives – Aye. Motion carried.

Teater made the motion to appoint Barbara Kelley to the Board of Review for a 6-year term starting in 2024 and ending in 2029. Second by Zurmuehlen. The individual votes were as follows: Supervisors – All Aye, Mayors – All Aye, School Board – All Aye. The units of the Board voted as follows: Supervisors – All Aye, Mayors – All Aye, School Board Representatives – Aye. Motion carried.

Strause made the motion to appoint Steve Stoller to the Board of Review for a 6-year term starting in 2024 and ending in 2029. Second by McVay. The individual votes were as follows: Supervisors – All Aye, Mayors – All Aye, School Board – All Aye. The units of the Board voted as follows: Supervisors – All Aye, Mayors – All Aye, School Board Representatives – Aye. Motion carried.

Zurmuehlen made the motion to appoint Andrea Bowen as Deputy Assessor. Second by Teater. The individual votes were as follows: Supervisors – All Aye, Mayors – All Aye, School Board – All Aye. The units of the Board voted as follows: Supervisors – All Aye, Mayors – All Aye, School Board Representatives – Aye. Motion carried.

Warner discussed the information provided to the Board. Warner highlighted some of the projects the office worked on during the past year. Warner mentioned the personnel changes in his office. He mentioned that Chief Deputy Mitch Taeger had retired at the end of 2023. Warner stated that Mitch will be difficult to replace with his years of experience. He mentioned the hiring of Andrea Bowen and briefly described her background in the assessment profession. Warner then discussed the executive summary. Warner explained the sales ratio and the amount of revaluation that was completed by class of property. Warner also stated that Des Moines County received a 13% equalization order on commercial property. Warner described the process of moving to the 2020 Real Property Appraisal Manual that the state requires Assessors to use for determining market value.

Next item for discussion was the 2024-2025 proposed budget. Broeker asked Warner if the amount of revenue the Hospital added was considered when preparing the budget. Warner stated that he did not try and estimate the impact of potentially losing that value would have on his budget. Broeker then stated that he had reviewed the budget, along with salary proposals and felt they were fair and noted that Warner has been at the low end of other Assessor's salary for counties comparable in size. Warner then discussed the annual amount of funds the Board has budgeted for since the last reappraisal. Warner stated the Board has budget for an additional \$100,000 over expenses for the next reappraisal project. Warner praised the Board for their foresight into planning for the next project. Warner stated that it is recommended that reappraisal projects should be accomplished every 10 to 12 years. Warner stated that if the traditional \$100,000 were levied for this year it would be looking at a reserve amount of \$800,000. Warner presented two different levy amounts for scenarios of saving \$100,000 as well as \$200,000 per year. Warner stated that it would be a good time to consider increasing the amount for this budget year to \$200,000 to help ensure the funds would be available for the next reappraisal project. Warner discussed other line items in the proposed budget including the increase in postage, and Board of Review wages. Warner stated the reason for this was that 2025 was another reappraisal year and tax assessments would likely have to be mailed to most property owners. It was noted that the county had received the new insurance rates. The proposed line item was estimated slightly higher than the new rates. Broeker commented that it was within \$100 and close enough to remain unchanged in the proposed budget.

Broeker made the motion to approve the proposed budget with an additional \$200,000 reserved for future reappraisal projects. The budget amount of \$578,881 with tax asking of \$778,881 (\$755,423 to be raised by taxation and \$23,458 in utility tax replacement excise taxes) with a levy of .39493. Second by Strause. The individual votes were as follows: Supervisors – All Aye, Mayors – All Aye, School Board – All Aye. The units of the Board voted as follows: Supervisors – All Aye, Mayors – All Aye, School Board Representatives – Aye. Motion carried.

The budget was unanimously approved for publication. It was noted by Supervisor Broeker that the budget could be lowered at the public hearing but could not be raised.

The Board set the date for Public Hearing on the 2024-2025 budget of February 22, at 5:15 pm for the next Conference Board meeting. Strause motion. Second by Broeker. All Aye, motion carried.

Strause made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:10 pm. Second by Broeker. All Aye, motion carried.

	Tom Broeker, Chairman
	date
atthew J. Warner, Clerk	