Licenses & Permits

Learn how to apply for a fireworks permit and tobacco, beer, and liquor licenses in Des Moines County.

Beer and Liquor License

The Department of Alcoholic Beverages Division (ABD) requires filing of all new and renewal applications for beer permits, liquor licenses, and corresponding payments be completed online. Please have your application filed on-line with ABD no later than fifteen days prior to the desired effective date in order for the application to be on the agenda for approval by the Des Moines County Board of Supervisors (local authority). The Des Moines County Board of Supervisors meet each Wednesday.

License fees will be processed through the ABD’s electronic funds transfer (EFT) system. The payment for the total cost of the license will be deducted after the application has been processed by ABD and approved by the local authority.

The final approved license will be emailed to the applicant’s email address provided during the application process.

The Des Moines County Board of Supervisors only have authority for approval of applicants located outside of incorporated city limits. Any applicant inside of an incorporated city should contact the appropriate City Clerk.

Please contact the Des Moines County Auditor’s Office with any local authority questions at 319-753-8232.

Log onto the Iowa Alcoholic Beverage Division’s website and click on the Licensing section and complete the online application process.

Online License Application

For questions or difficulties contact the ABD at 515-281-7400.

Tobacco License

For businesses located in the unincorporated areas of Des Moines County seeking to apply for a retail Tobacco License. Click the link below to download the pdf application for Tobacco License. After completing the license application you must mail the completed form along with payment to the Des Moines County Auditor's Office 201 State St. Des Moines, IA 50036. Completed applications will be reviewed and considered by the Des Moines County Board of Supervisors in a public meeting. Contact the Des Moines County Auditor's Office with any further questions regarding submittal of a Tobacco License application.

License Application

Fireworks Permit

Groups that wish to display fireworks in the unincorporated areas of Des Moines County must obtain approval from the board of supervisors.

Applications may be made only by:

1. Municipalities
2. Fair Associations
3. Amusement Parks
4. Organizations
5. Groups of Individuals

Applicants MUST obtain pre-approval of the display from the Fire Chief having jurisdiction at the site of the display location.

Upon approval by the appropriate Fire Chief, an applicant shall obtain the signature of the Fire Chief on the application. Applicants may then submit the completed application and fee to the Des Moines County Auditor.

Applications shall include:

1. The names, addresses, and phone numbers for the applicant, sponsor, and operator of the display;
2. The date, time, and location of the display, including any rain date(s);
3. The qualifications of the operator of the display;
4. Detailed fire prevention measures;
5. Signature from the respective Fire Chief or Designee approving the display (see listing below);
6. The Applicant’s signature acknowledging an understanding of the proper handling of fireworks and providing a hold harmless/indemnification provision; and
7. An itemized description of the display, including the type of fireworks that will be used.

It is recommended that applications and fee be submitted to the County Auditor at least 14 days in advance of the proposed display date.

The application will then be scheduled for consideration on the next available meeting date for the Des Moines County Board of Supervisors. Applicants will be notified of the Board’s decision.

Fireworks may only be discharged between sunrise and 11 p.m. CST.


One-day event: $20
Multi-day events: $50

Make checks payable to the Des Moines County Auditor.

Fireworks Permit

Fire Department Contacts

Burlington Fire Department
Robert Berndt, Fire Marshal

Danville Volunteer Fire Department 
Bryon Heater, Fire Chief

Northern Des Moines County Rural Fire District
Andy Kerr, Fire Chief

Yarmouth Volunteer Fire Department
Justin Myers, Fire Chief

West Burlington Fire Department
Jesse Logan, Fire Chief

Back · Des Moines County Auditor